I Ride for my mom and my dog

“The fight against cancer is very personal to me.”
– Tonya Swick, 50-mile rider

rider-on-the-route

Tonya Swick is racking up miles on her bike these days. She admits she’s not a cyclist at all and jokes, “I just like to wear spandex!” So, what really gets Tonya out on her bike? To help end cancer faster.

“Within a two-year period I had three cancer diagnoses hit home,” said Tonya. “My mother was diagnosed with cervical cancer, a good friend was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and my four-legged best friend, Lucy Lu, died from Lymphoma.”

obliteride-dogs

“Obliteride is a way for me to honor the memory of my dog Lucy Lu, who I lost to lymphoma.  She HATED bikes, so I knew that she would be chasing and barking at me the entire ride, and what better motivation to get up a hill than having a Doberman chase you!” Tonya loves the fact that cancer research at Fred Hutch also helps animals with cancer.

The need for cures is urgent and the facts are scary. Half of all men and 1 out of 3 women will be diagnosed with cancer. This year, nearly 70,000 people are expected to be diagnosed with cancer in the Northwest alone.

“I believe that we will find a cure in our lifetime and the research done at Fred Hutch will be integral,” said Tonya. “You can make a difference and be a part of finding the cure for cancer.”

Look for Tonya on the 50-mile route in August. To be part of this exciting event, sign up to ride 10-165 miles, or volunteer at obliteride.org.

 

Leave a Reply

